The Metaphysics of Time: Themes from Prior



Call for papers

As part of a three year project, *The Primacy of Tense: A.N. Prior Now and Then*, funded by *The Danish Council for Independent Research* (FKK) the third conference called *The Metaphysics of Time* will be held at Aalborg University *March 19–21, 2019*. We invite submissions on A.N. Prior's contribution to metaphysics, stretching from his early writings on theology to his later extensive work on the metaphysics of time. Philosophical papers, formal or informal, are welcome. This includes papers on the history of temporal logic. Examples of relevant themes include (but are not restricted to):

- The tensed view of time
- The tenseless view of time
- Branching time
- Time and modality
- Tense logic

- Presentism and its rivals
- The arrow of time
- Time and eternity
- Human freedom and divine foreknowledge
- A.N. Prior's early papers
- Abstract entities and logical constructions
- Hybrid logic
- The logic of ethics
- Anselm's ontological argument

The invited keynote speaker is Dr. William Lane Craig. Over the years he has contributed significantly to the development and exploration of the metaphysics of time. He is the author of a number of books and papers on the topic.

All papers accepted for presentation at the conference will be published in the book series *Logic and Philosophy of Time – Themes from Prior* by Aalborg University Press. Papers should be submitted as a Word Document in the format used by Springer in the LNAI series and should not exceed 14 pages. Deadline for submission: *Dec. 1, 2018* at: <u>https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=anpaau2019</u> Notification: *Dec. 15, 2018* Program committee: David Jakobsen, Per Hasle, Peter Øhrstrøm. <u>LNAI template can be downloaded here</u>. Conference manager: Fatima Sabir. For more info see <u>www.prior.aau.dk</u> or write to Fatima Sabir <u>fsabir@ruc.dk</u> or David Jakobsen <u>davker@hum.aau.dk</u>.



William Lane Craig.
Some of his important books on time:
The Problem of Divine Foreknowledge and Future Contingents from Aristotle to Suarez. Leiden:
E.J. Brill, 1988.
The Tensed Theory of Time: A Critical Examination. Dordrecht: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2000.
The Tenseless Theory of Time: A Critical Examination, Dordrecht: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2000.
God, Time and Eternity. Dordrecht: Kluwer

Academic Publishers. 2001.